I Am Your Disease…

Hello friend,

I hate anyone who has a program.

To all of you who come in contact with me, I wish you death and suffering. Allow me to introduce myself… I am the disease of addiction.

I am cunning, baffling and powerful. That is me.Addiction3

I have killed millions and I am please. I love to catch you with the element of surprise, I love pretending that I am your friend or lover, I have given you comfort, haven’t I?

Wasn’t I there when you were lonely? When you wanted to die, didn’t you call upon me? I was there.

I love to make you hurt. Better yet, I love to make you so numb you can neither hurt nor cry.

Addiction

When you can feel nothing at all, that is true gratification!

And all I ask from you is long term suffering.

I’ve been there for you always. When things were going right in your life, you invited.

You said you didn’t deserve these good things and I was the only one who agreed with you.

Together we were able to destroy all the good things in your life.

People don’t take me seriously.

Take heart disease, stroke, and diabetes seriously, but not me. Such fools!

I am such a hated disease, yet I do not come uninvited.

You CHOOSE to have me; I hate ALL OF YOU who have a 12-Step Program. Your program, your meetings, your Higher Power. All these things weaken me and I cannot function in the manner I am accustomed to .

Now I sit here, quietly. When you live, I may only exist. But I am here… and until we meet again, I wish you death and suffering.

Just wanted to keep in touch.

Regards,

Your Disease

Addiction4

 

 

 

 

 

 

(This poem was given to my loved one when they were going through detox. Once you have a few days of sobriety, the words will shine a little extra light through the haze! Stay strong!)

Addiction2

 

Leave a Reply

